Hitching a Ride in Ireland

The World of Trinity

Hitchhiking in Ireland

As a timid person when I first learnt about the concept of “hitchhiking” a few years ago, I thought it was a beautiful but unrealistic idea, and something I would probably never do it in my whole life for safety’s sake. Now I would say I dare not hitchhike unless I’m in Ireland…

My first thoughts around hitchhiking in Ireland took place in December two years ago on a trip to the west of Ireland with my friend Maria. Part of the holiday involved travelling from Galway to Letterfrack, a gem of a town hidden away in beautiful Connemara, on Christmas day. Considering the difficulty of getting there by public transport at that time of the year, the brave Maria suggested to the not-so-brave Panpan that perhaps hitchhiking would be the best solution.

Before we intended to set out on the road, an elderly gentleman we met on the streets…

View original post 570 more words

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

